Go see our other artists.
Be The Bear Promo Website Bio


Be The Bear is the Art Pop baby of Danish/English artist & producer Christina Wehage working with several Swedish music producers. Be The Bear’s single “Bad Things” topped the iTunes charts in Sweden. Since then the music has been celebrated internationally, with the brooding “Coffee Kids” and the sugar-sweet “Bump” being their most recent singles. Be The Bear’s debut album is to be released in 2014.

“Scandinavia once again proves to be a musical paradise … The voice of the singer seems to swim in places recalling the best achievements of Bjork, or the charismatic voice of Florence Welch.”
- Music Is, Poland

“Danish/English siren Christina Wehage births experimental pop with the aid of Swedish producer Mattias Bolin under the name of Be The Bear. Ever wondered what it would sound like if School of Seven Bells made love to Björk whilst on speed? New single ‘Coffee Kids’ is just that.”
- acid stag, Australia

“If the pop music industry in the UK has any respect for itself, Be The Bear will be hailed like Gotye or Fun. Niki and the Dove might be the latest cover story for Scandinavian pop, but that may soon shift to highlight Be The Bear and rightfully so” 5/5 – Samuel Litherland, Born Music UK

“a multcoloured melody that eschews early Bjork and Niki and the Dove. Surging forth on a joyous ride of electro pop that shoos and coos bad karma away from your body”
- God Is In The TV Zine, UK

“Be The Bear’s tasty brand of electro pop had me hooked on my very first listen. Her voice slays me.”
- Syffal, USA

“Scandinavian indiepop duo Be The Bear have recently released their debut EP Fireships into the global arena, creating a musical landscape full of indiefolk, dance and electropop. Topping the Swedish iTunes charts with single Bad Things and enjoying airplay in the US, Singapore, Germany and Japan, the pair are helping Scandinavian pop gain worldwide status.”
- 1883 Magazine, London




Be The Bear released their first unsigned recording entitled ‘My New Glow’ on April 1, 2011 – Christina’s 26th birthday. The single features the song “My New Glow” and a re-recorded, partially re-written version of “Heart On A Line”.

Six months before its inclusion on this single, the band recorded an earlier version of the track ‘Heart on a line’ which was chosen as the soundtrack to the SAAB 9-4X commercial, and in just a few days was seen by thousands of listeners on YouTube.

The single was recorded at the Gothenburg music studio Loud Attic.

Their cover version of the Swedish Folksong “Barfotavisan” by Mats Paulson is currently being aired on Swedish national television in a commercial for the florist chain Blomsterlandet, running for the second summer in a row.

In October 2011 the band donated their song “Heart On A Line” to the Swedish charity organisation “Ung Cancer” (Young Cancer). The song was included on the “Det Är Okej Att Känna” (It’s OK To Feel) CD released on iTunes the 3rd of October 2011. The song was also featured in the short film “Det Är Okej Att Känna Hopp” (It’s OK To Feel Hope”), one out of five films in the campaign.

They released their debut EP “Fireships” in the winter of 2011, following it up with the single “Bad Things” which instantly topped the iTunes charts in Sweden. For more info about their releases and to listen to them, go to the music page.

All of the band’s artwork is created by celebrated Vietnamese artist Khoa Le, who has had her own solo exhibition for over a year at the Daydreamer Gallery, Ho Chi Minh City. Her visuals for the band are based on concepts drawn from Christina’s lyrics.



Share and Enjoy
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tumblr
  • Blogger
  • Delicious
  • Google Plus
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS